Living in NYC before interning at NBC

My internship at NBC News.com starts Friday, June 6!
My internship at NBC News.com starts Friday, June 6!

It goes without saying New York can be expensive for the average resident here, so you can imagine my surprise to find several local, cheap markets in my apartment’s neighborhood.

Those who know me know I love to eat, but I love learning more. My experience in New York thus far is no exception. Whether it’s the culture shock of living in Sunset Park, Brooklyn, a wonderful area with a Hispanic and Chinese population, or learning how to get around via public transportation, I’m almost certain I have never felt as euphoric about a period of life as I do this summer.

I'm coming to meet you this summer, Dean Baquet!
I’m coming to meet you this summer, Dean Baquet!

Folks who know me will say I shouldn’t be surprised: I spent a week in New York June 2011 to raise funds for orphans of the tsunami strike in northeastern Japan March 11 that year. It was a great experience, and I was only a college freshman at Centenary College who only dreamed about working in the Big Apple.

 

Expect video footage of this musician rocking out, ASAP.
Expect video footage of this musician rocking out, ASAP. 

A big part of my fascination with the city is the people: It seems everyone here has an ambition, an aspiration to follow their passions. Of course there are people who don’t fit this description, but they nonetheless have their own story to tell.

I feel the same way toward many people in my life, and it would take me hours if not days to thank each person that’s supported me thus far. My professors at LSU mentored me in journalism and adulthood overall, and the Scripps Howard Foundation was fantastic enough to award a stipend to me to aid in funding my summer expenses. It also means a lot to get help from those helping me to raise funds to live in NYC (We’re at more than 25 percent of our goal), and to listen to all my ideas and questions when I had the strength to share them.

 

 

It goes without saying that not everyone agrees with the New York Times.
It goes without saying that not everyone agrees with the coverage and actions at New York Times. This banner is placed on the building across the street from the paper’s headquarters.

I haven’t started my internship at NBCNews.com, but Thursday (my orientation date) is around the corner. I’m constantly sending my supervisor questions, updates and ideas related to my role as a digital features intern. Story ideas develop from almost every source of information I consume while away from Louisiana, and I hope to pursue them all.

Leave a Reply

